Siddall, Masters double award winners Saturday
Bookmark and Share
Jun 02, 2014  |  Vote 0    0

Siddall, Masters double award winners Saturday

St. Marys Journal Argus

Pat Payton

Sports editor

Captain Mike Siddall and goaltender Andrew Masters were both double winners as St. Marys Lincolns held their annual award presentations Saturday evening at St. Marys Golf and Country Club.

Lincs handed out 10 team awards, following the team’s annual golf day and draw.

Siddall, 19, accepted the Lincolns’ leading scorer award and the team’s leadership award. The hard-working centre was especially pleased to win the leadership award.

“Leadership is always a good trait to have,” Siddall said. “I’ve always wanted to be a leader and keep the guys on the right track. I’ve always wanted to be the best player that I could be.”

After two seasons with the team, Siddall told the Journal Argus is considering joining Trenton Golden Hawks of the OJHL (Tier II Provincial Jr. ‘A’).

“It was always my life dream and goal to play in St. Marys, but sometimes you have to do what’s best for you and see what the future holds. It’s all up in the air right now,” he said Saturday.

Masters won the Lincs’ regular-season MVP award as well as the Fan Appreciation Award/Most Popular Player.

Masters joined the Lincs relatively late in the season from the Paris Jr. ‘C’ club. He was a big reason why St. Marys was able to make a late push and clinch the eighth and final playoff spot.

“It’s definitely a big honour for the brass of the Lincolns’ organization to recognize me (with the MVP award),” said Masters, who turned 19 last month.

The Kitchener native also shone in the playoffs, stopping almost 200 shots in a four-game, first-round series with eventual league champion Leamington Flyers.

Ten team awards

The 10 team awards presented Saturday were as follows:

--Harold W. Maxwell Trophy for team leading scorer.

Mike Siddall led the team with 18 goals and 38 points in 49 games. Nine of the hard-working centreman’s goals came on powerplays, and one was a shorthanded marker.

Donna Aldis made the presentation.

--Earl Leslie Memorial Trophy for rookie-of-the-year.

This year’s winner is Ocean Check, an offensively-skilled player. In 45 games, the 17-year-old from Melrose had nine goals, 23 points and 48 penalty minutes.

New coach Merlin Malinowski made the presentation.

--David Baynes Memorial Trophy for most valuable defenceman.

Braydon Blight, 19, is this year’s winner. The hard-nosed blue-liner, a first-team all-star in the Western Conference, had nine goals, 29 points and a team-leading 162 penalty minutes. Seven of his goals came on powerplays.

Bill Bourne made the presentation.

--Bert Stacey Memorial Trophy for ability and sportsmanship.

This year’s winner is Rai DiLoreto, 18. The hard-working centre from London finished fourth overall in team scoring with 17 goals and 30 points in 44 games. Eight of his goals came on powerplays, and he also had two game winners.

Carmen Stacey represented the family.

--David R. Stevens Trophy for leadership, on and off the ice.

Captain Mike Siddall is the winner of this year’s Stevens award. Donna Aldis made the presentation.

--Jack Boyd Memorial Trophy for most dedicated player.

This year’s winner is St. Marys native and SMMHA product Nathan Smith, a hard-working rookie with the Lincs this past season. Smith turns 17 next month.

Shirley Boyd made the presentation.

--R.G. (Kelly) Hearn Memorial Award for most improved player.

Defenceman Mitch Read, younger brother of Philadelphia Flyers’ forward Matt, is this year’s winner. The 19-year-old Lucan native played 42 games for Lincolns, picking up nine points and 54 penalty minutes.

Donna Aldis and Shirley Boyd made the presentation.

--Founding Member Award. Fan Appreciation Award/Most Popular Player. The award is voted on each season by the Lincs’ fans.

This year’s winner is Andrew Masters. The 19-year-old puck-stopper hails from Kitchener. He posted a .902 save percentage in 20 regular-season games with Lincolns.

--Most Valuable Player Award (regular-season), donated by Frank Edye Sr.

Standout goalie Andrew Masters is this year’s winner.

Janet Edye-Thomson made the presentation on behalf of the Edye family.

--The Bannerman Memorial Award is given to a graduating player(s) on the team each season. It recognizes the Bannerman family’s long-time contribution to the Jr. ‘B’ Lincolns hockey club in St. Marys.

This year’s winner is veteran Nico Giannantonio. In his first season with the team, the 20-year-old Londoner led all defencemen in scoring with four goals and 31 points.

Mike Bannerman was on hand to represent the Bannerman family.

On the Cup, it states: “The Bannerman Trophy is presented to the Lincolns’ player who works hardest to improve—both academically and in hockey.”

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login

Latest Local News

In Your Neighbourhood Today