25 years ago — 1989
Editorial: The Town’s Economic Development Commission and Town Council are on the right track in addressing the future of the Sarnia Bridge — the circa 1867 railway viaduct which spans the Thames River above Rice Lake here in St. Marys. As recommended by the development commission, Town Council has agreed it would be in the Town’s best interest to set up a meeting with the CNR to discuss the bridge’s future in light of the railway’s declared intentions to abandon the rail line from Lucan to St. Marys.
Downie Township expects to have blue waste recycling boxes distributed in that township by April 1.
50 years ago — 1964
The present enrolment of the St. Marys District Collegiate and Vocational Institute is 759.
Notice: 24-Hour Towing Service. We Will Do Night Calls. (Glen and Jerry’s Supertest Service, Queen Street, St. Marys)
The number of fox bounties paid for by Oxford County has decreased considerably since the 1940s. Are the County foxes getting smarter, or are there fewer of them? It was also noted that owners of orchards and woodlots also blame the high incidence of mice and other destructive rodents and the absence of foxes, which are the natural enemies of mice and rabbits.
We See: THAT construction of a new four-room school to serve the north section of East Nissouri Township is being considered by the School Board. Location has not been decided definitely but it will probably be in the Uniondale area.
From Blanshard Council: Mr. George Ball and the legal advisor of the St. Marys Cement Co., called on Council to get their approval to build a new dyke road replacing a section of the river road in the township. A resolution was passed giving the Cement Co., approval to build the new road providing the Blanshard portion was surfaced in the same manner as the St. Marys portion. The Cement Company assured Blanshard Council of their willingness to help out with the upkeep of this road for the first year or two.
75 years ago — 1939
Building improvements in the environs of St. Marys in recent months must include Dave Stevens’ new mink ranch house on Water Street North. A picture of the new mink ranch house appears in this week’s issue of the Journal Argus. The new facility is complete with facilities for preparing the mink feed, repairing equipment, and storing furs. There is also a watchtower acting as a survey point from where the activities of mink farming can be seen.
Despite the alternating weather, which has been the experience of the district the past two weeks, nature has been taking the course in the budding of bulbs and plants. Recently, Fred Teahen, Jr., brought to the Journal office a few twigs from the vicinity of the Old Lime Kilns, which are identified as those of the so-called Pussy Willows. The little “pussies” on the branches were not as large as they will be later in the season.
100 years ago — 1914
A large and appreciative audience recently enjoyed a recital given by Agnes Knox Black at Harding’s Hall, Thorndale, under the auspices of the Women’s Institute. Mrs. Black gave a varied program of humorous classical recitations in her usual entertaining style. Mrs. Black is one of St. Marys’ daughters who has achieved distinction.
St. Marys also watches with interest the career of its brilliant son, Honourable Arthur Meighen, Solicitor-General in the Federal Government.
A unique event was quietly celebrated recently at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Murray, Stratford, formerly of Avonton, the occasion being the 60th or Diamond Anniversary of their wedding. For it was on Feb. 9, 1854, in what is now the Town of St. Marys, that Walter Murray and Elizabeth Ballantyne were married, and Principal Caven performed the ceremony. (Avonton news)