Grocer Atoms start with 4-4 tie in Mooretown
Bookmark and Share
Sep 22, 2014  |  Vote 0    0

Grocer Atoms start with 4-4 tie in Mooretown

St. Marys Journal Argus

MOORETOWN - In their Shamrock League season opener here Sunday, St. Marys Atom ‘BB’ team was surprised by the speedy Mooretown Storm, who opened the scoring early in their first shift.

In the second period, after trailing the home team 3-0, Aaron Vernooy scored his first goal of the season, with Ben Turner and Mason Boonstra contributing the assists.

Zach Rooney connected unassisted, and Jimmy Schiedel fired the tying goal with Kirk Boreham and Ethan Pearce assisting.

Mooretown regained the lead early in the third, pulling ahead 4-3 until Boonstra fed a pass to the speedy Turner who beat the Storm goaltender.

Both teams played a strong physical contest, which ended in a 4-4 tie.

Next SHL action for the McDonald’s Independent Atom squad is tonight (Wednesday, Sept. 24) when they host the Belmont Rangers.

Game time is 6:15 p.m. at the PRC.

Pre-season victory at Listowel

In exhibition play at Listowel on Sunday, Sept. 14, the McDonald’s Independent Atom ‘BBs’ defeated the home team 6-2, with Porter Aitken leading the way with two goals and one assist.

Aitken started the game with an unassisted goal in the first period. In the second period, Jimmy Schiedel and Ben Richardson both scored to give the visitors a 3-0 advantage.

Kaleb Shalk shot a rocket past the Listowel goaltender to open the third period and Ben Turner went unassisted to boost the score to 5-0.

Listowel finally solved Nicolas Keestra’s strong play and scored two quick goals late in the third, until Aitken scored his second of the night, putting the game away.

The team looked very strong in their first action of the 2014-15 season.

Coaching staff, roster

The Atom BBs are coached by Dan Schiedel. Ken Schiedel and Mark McEwan are the assistant coaches. Mac Littlejohn is the trainer, and the team is managed by Casey Boreham.

The player roster is as follows: Ethan Pearce, Rourke McEwan, Jimmy Schiedel, Ben Turner, Aaron Vernooy, Ben Richardson, Kirk Boreham, Jake Littlejohn, Porter Aitken, Mason Boonstra, Keegan Nethercott, Zach Rooney and Kaleb Schalk.

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login

Latest Local News

In Your Neighbourhood Today