This familiar landmark has stood since 1871 on the southeast corner of Wellington and St. Patrick streets.
Built by Charles Browning, it was known briefly as the Balmoral. The hotel was a popular resting stop with 36 rooms, meals, refreshments and horse stables across the road. It was a favourite watering hole after a day of market commerce for the local farmers.
This most durable hostelry would outsurvive over 35 competing establishments at a time when our town population was only 6,000 people.
In 1876 the name would be changed to the Mansion House and for over a century the "Mansion" would see many changes to suit the entertainment needs of its patrons and the liquor laws of the time.
Late in the 1970s it would undergo extensive renovations and a name change to the Olde English Parlour.
Today, with continuing upgrades, it is well into its second century and one of the few remaining establishments that can make claim to such an enduring history.