Sparks will fly in SMCP's 'You Can't Take it With...
Bookmark and Share
Oct 23, 2014  |  Vote 0    0

Sparks will fly in SMCP's 'You Can't Take it With You'

St. Marys Journal Argus

Beginning this evening (Thursday, Oct. 23) at the St. Marys Town Hall auditorium, St. Marys Community Players (SMCP) brings to audiences one of the most popular and successful plays of the 20th century.

Opening Night for this year’s SMCP’s fall production, the classic George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart comedy “You Can’t Take It With You,” is Friday, Oct. 24, with the curtain rising an 8 p.m. Subsequent performances of the production, directed by LauraJean McCann, are scheduled for Oct. 25, 26 and Nov. 2 at 2 p.m. and Oct. 30, 31 and Nov. 1 at 8 p.m. There is also one preview performance tonight at 8 p.m.

The original production of the play opened at the Booth Theatre on Broadway in New York on Dec. 14, 1936, and played for 837 performances. The play won the 1937 Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

The screen adaption won Academy Awards for Best Picture and Best Director.

“You Can’t Take It With You” tells the story of the Sycamore family. Alice Sycamore has to introduce the family of her fiancé, Tony Kirby, to her own family. That’s when the fun starts!

The Kirbys are a wealthy, stuffy family of great self-importance, while the Sycamores are a collection of good-hearted lunatics. When the two families come together on the wrong night, lifestyle and philosophy collide head-on in a series of zany misadventures that sees sparks fly.

“Come out and enjoy the antics of some truly endearing characters who will make you laugh, dazzle your senses, and challenge your vision of success in this crazy world of the Sycamore family,” says SMCP director McCann.

The cast of the Town Hall show includes Emily Lagace as Alice Sycamore in her theatre debut, Dan Rankin as Tony Kirby, David James as Grandpa Martin Vanderhof, Maggie Luxford as Penny Sycamore, Brian Moore as Paul Sycamore, Al Leitch as Mr. Kirby, Linda Harris as Mrs. Kirby, Jessica Damen as Essie, Eric Russell as Ed, Jim Hill as Boris Kolenkhov, Aaron Kropf as Mr. DePinna, Patti Muma-Cook as Rheba, Murray Lee as Donald, Josey Christmas in two roles as Olga and Gay, Don Van Galen as Henderson. And then there are Ray Doerksen, Don Wells and Ron Cook as the G-men.

Tickets are now on sale at the Flower Shop & More in downtown St. Marys (call 519-284-2013), or they can be purchased online at

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login

Latest Local News


Food fraud concerns 63% of Canadians

63% of Canadians are concerned about food fraud, 'the big elephant in the room'



No plans to close Listowel Legion buildings, president says

LISTOWEL – Despite the rising cost of operations and challenges around new legislation, there are no...


In Your Neighbourhood Today